SA Business Awards 2011

The SA Business Awards 2011

Business Awards 2011-Pic 8Business Awards 2011 - Pic 9Business Awards 2011-2Business Awards 2011-1Business Awards 2011 - Pic 2Business Awards 2011-Pic 3Business Awards 2011-Pic 5Business Awards 2011-Pic 6Business Awards 2011-Pic 7Business Awards 2011-Pic 11Business Awards 2011-Pic 12Business Awards 2011-Pic 14Business Awards 2011-Pic 15Business Awards 2011-7

The winners of the SA Business Club Awards 2011 were announced at a glittering ceremony at SA House on Thursday the 24th of November 2011. The evening was opened by world renowned baritone Njabulo Madlala, whose performance of Nkosi Sikelel'iAfrika moved many in the audience.

With many deserving nominees, the judges based their decisions both on merit and the number of votes each person received.

The winner of Rising Star of the Year is Achumile Majija, with stiff competition from Heather Baker, who received a special mention, Marjorie Ngwenya, Marius Maritz, Noni Zondi and Charles Perry.

Debbie Klein took the coveted Business Leader of the Year award.

Innovator of the Year is   Paul Harrison. He was up against Sello Thornton and Vanessa Hall in this category.

Children's Hospital Trust SA beat five other worthy nominees, Starfish Great Hearts Foundation, mothers2mothers, Nelson Mandela Children's Fund, Precious Children Foundation and Save the Africa Centre for the title of Charity of the Year in this fiercely contested category.

Caroline Rowland was crowned Woman in Business of the Year. Her fellow nominees were Tolene van der Merwe, Gwen Brits, Cemanthe Harries, Taor Morris, Rozzyn Boy, Ilona Chanochand Nyasha Gwatidzo.

Kirsten Goss was named Entrepreneur of the Year, also contested by Louis Venter, Clifford Boobyer, Ludre Stevens, Steven Sharp, Ross Williams.

The SA Business Club would like to thank the sponsors of the each award:

  • Sable Group - Rising Star of the Year
  • Nedbank - Innovator of the Year
  • Reed Smith - Charity of the Year
  • Deloitte - Woman in Business of the Year
  • Trimega Laboratories - Entrepreneur of the Year
  • South African Airways - Business Leader of the Year

We would also like to congratulate our auction winners. Geoff Johnson who won two return business class tickets to South Africa(courtesy of SAA) AND two nights stay at Table Bay hotel(courtesy of Sun International). Herman Howell won two nights stay at &Beyond Ngala Tented Camp(coutresy of &Beyond).

Thank you all for those who attended the evening and made it a huge success!

To view more picutres, please visit The South African

See you at the next First Wednesday Event in 2012!